waffle

Lettering

Tact is hard to express when frothing. How’s my driving?

From: Jesper
To: [marketing agent/"editor" on misguided/fake application listing]
Date: 2009-01-28 22:41
Subject: Re: Regarding Gmail+Growl on [listing site]

I have contacted you a few days ago regarding Gmail+Growl being granted the “Excellent” certificate.

Did you get a chance to read my e-mail?

Yes; out of my four current pieces of software, plainly listed on the web site, [listing site] has listed none; only, with pinpoint precision, my two abandoned applications.

The page you expect me to link to is filled with ads and links to other software, the “certificate” has the name placed on it rather obviously by way of an image generator and there are no qualifications listed anywhere justifying the award. It is obvious that you expect me to link to your site to draw attention and lend search engine legitimacy to it, and not to draw users to my software. Because of that, I will decline, and I ask that you delist Gmail+Growl as well as take reasonable efforts to not contact me in the future. If such efforts can not be taken, this gives me even more reason to doubt the seriousness of your company’s listing.

Placing the image certificate on your website would also bennefit [sic] your company as it would inspire trust and confidence in your software products.

Knowing what I was able to gather about your company’s site in two minutes, linking to your site and helping cement your “certificate” does not inspire trust and confidence in me or my software. I expect that the users of my software would come to the same conclusion.

I hoped I’d be able to send you a reply that wasn’t this harsh, but I have found that it is the most effective way of dealing with misguided listings like your company’s effort. If your company decides to rethink its philosophy, respect the developers whose software they wish to list and provide a certificate that can be proven to be awarded on a manual basis based on merit (rather than on a seemingly automatic basis based on crawling web sites), you are welcome to return. Until then, this is the sort of reception you will earn.

Cordially,
/Jesper

Moreover, I advise that the iPhone software platform must be opened.

Comments

  1. I’d have to say your driving is just fine. I usually reply with nothing more than a “please remove me” but I’ve been harassed with followup e-mail by such listing sites as well. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one complaining. :-) I believe I’ve been approached by the very same site you’ve [ mentioned ] (the unceremonious dumping of my product name onto a badge via an automatic image generator being the tip-off). I agree with your assessment of the general worth of the “confidence” they claim as well as your conclusion that it’s more to help their site than your product.

    By J Nozzi · 2009.01.29 01:01

  2. Most people I’ve spoken to about this say they just ignore it. As, I should mention, is what I usually do. This isn’t the first time, not even with this particular site. I thought I’d poke the outlet with a wet stick just this once and see what happens.

    I did make sure to include plenty of actual arguments that any actual serious company would like to take to heart as a manner of the regular feedback process (if they got them, which they wouldn’t, I guess), and to stay friendly, if harsh.

    By Jesper · 2009.01.29 01:45

  3. I’ve gotten multiple such e-mails from them too; the first time I sent back a relatively polite “no thanks” to their automated follow-up, since then I’ve just ignored them. I think I support your efforts…

    By Jordy/Jediknil · 2009.01.29 06:59

  4. I’d say that ignoring such e-mails in the way you ignore other spam is the way to go. Everything else seems to be a waste of your time.

    By ssp · 2009.01.29 10:28

  5. Likely. We’ll see.

    By Jesper · 2009.01.29 19:53

  6. http://blog.erdener.org/archives/001350.php:

    iTunes Doodad won an award today. It has been certified as “Excellent” by FindMySoft.com. They made me a custom graphic, too.

    I can hear it already… some of you are you saying, “So what? That graphic was probably auto-generated by robot software”. But hey, how many auto-generated robot graphics have been sent to YOU on behalf of a website you’ve never heard of? Mmm hmmm, that’s what I thought.

    But you know what, don’t focus on the negative, man. If you are true to yourself, with a lot of hard work, you too can follow your dreams and have a robot stranger send you a graphic that you can post on your website. And that’ll just be the beginning.

    Ok yeah, I’m done. It’s neato though, their website seems legit, has Google PR 5/10 so it’s not some fly-by-night scam. But it doesn’t take over my personal favorite “included in Japanese Mac magazine” success. They sent me 2 copies after they published it, couldn’t read a damn thing.

    By roxane · 2009.02.08 15:36

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.